Posted by: mckenzie68 | September 26, 2010

26,000+ Kilometers, 41 States, and 7 Provinces!

I find it amazing that we rode a distance equivalent to over halfway around the world during this adventure, over 26,000 kilometers, mind boggling!  We had two crashes, two tip overs, and too many close calls to even count, so it was not a trip without incident, but it has made us stronger.

I did 6 oil changes on both bikes, sometimes in parking lots, which normally attracted a great deal of attention, and thankfully we were able to easily dispose of the used oil at Wal-Mart stores which always appeared to be close.

I did two valve adjustments on my motorcycle, which was easy to do, but took a little time for the first one as I had not done one on the BMW before.  I love the bike for that!  I also changed the final drive fluid and transmission fluid 3 times, which was also really easy.

Both bikes went through 3 sets of tires, which surprised me a bit as I had expected better mileage, but hey no tire punctures!

I had installed a “Scotts Chain Oiler” for Rae’s motorcycle and it was a god send as it kept the chain well lubed, and all I had to do was keep it’s oil reservoir full!  Anyone who has a chain driven motorcycle should consider this set up, I am now officially a convert!

The price of gas in the USA was approximately half of what it cost in Canada, and even with the exchange rate, we in the great white north are paying somebody somewhere lots more money than our friends to the south.  The other eye opener was taxes in Canada, we are taxed significantly higher on pretty much everything than in the states.  Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my country, I am concerned though at such a disparity in terms of taxes, it makes me wonder where the money is going???  Not a criticism just a point to ponder, and no I would not want to change countries.

I am so happy to have had the chance to do this adventure with my wife, and I knew before even turning a wheel that it would test us and our marriage.  For the first month and a half it was extremely tough.  Imagine living 24/7 with your spouse, with little or no alone time, it would be challenging.  Now add to that riding every day, loading and unloading the motorcycles, meals, writing and updating our blog when we had internet access.  It never got easy, however we did adapt to our situation and developed ways to cope.  It truly is worthy of a book, especially for Rae as she had so many tough days, pain, crashes, and of course putting up with me!

Now that we have been home for a week or so, I miss the road, I truly do.  Even after all of those kilometers, challenges and such, I would have carried on had it not been for my shoulder injury.  Now all I have to do is convince Rae to go on a 3 year round the world adventure, and find some sponsors, which really should not be as hard as you would think.  We gave all of our equipment a very tough test, and some items held up perfectly and other items I would not recommend to anyone.  I guess it would also make good TV if there was a cameraman willing to give up 3 years of his life…LOL

I am not sure what we are going to do now that we are settling in, but I do know this, it will be exciting regardless of what we end up doing…it is what happens when your around me, as those who know me can attest too.  =D

I do miss my friends and family tons, and I cannot wait to see you all soon!!!

Ray

Responses

  1. ” Applause GIF” While the ride is behind you, the memories will live on forever.

    Regards


Leave a Reply

Categories

