Posted by: mckenzie68 | August 29, 2010

Race day canceled for me…Rae ill! August 29, or Day 133

Well, it has been a scary start to the day,  I have been up since 0600 this morning looking after Rae.  She was very sick with a 104 degree fever, and currently she is on antibiotics right now to bring it under control.  Thankfully after she took the first pill at 0900 her fever has started to drop.  She is resting right now, and I am checking her temperature every 30 minutes.

Unfortunately we will miss the MotoGP races, which is OK, but like everything that has taken place on this adventure there must be a reason for her getting sick at this point in time.  I am not sure what that could possibly be, but it is not for me to know.  I am grateful that her fever has dropped, she gave me a bit of a scare this morning!

We will not be on the road until she is better, so more to follow…

Ray

***UPDATE***  Rae is doing OK, still not well, but at least the fever has broken, but her neck is swollen severly on her left side.  I have been with her all day and thank god she is better.  It has been a very, very long day….

Responses

  1. Oh my! I hope SheRae is OK? And we thought you just didn’t like us. 😉 I can’t believe she was that sick after getting back to the hotel? not a sign all evening? I didn’t think so anyway.

    The races were incredible but did you hear about the 13 year old racer who died? We actually watched it happen. I screamed and watched in horror as he waved his arms for riders to avoid him but he got just smoked by another rider. It was in the first race… I don’t even know the name of the races (before the 125cc race). It was terrible. The Moto2 race was awesome! And Rossi landed 4th in MotoGP! Dang! Oops. I should’ve warned this was a spoiler. But kudos to Rossi for fighting up the ranks.

    Anyway, I hope all is better and we will follow your story all the way. You guys are awesome and we missed you at the track today.

    Sharon (& Tim)

    • I was feeling ok that evening until the end. One the cab ride home I told Ray I was feeling a bit poor. Overnight the fever came on in its full wrath and by the next morning I was a mess. I tried to talk Ray into going to the race, but he was having none of it! He’s very good at taking care of me when I’m sick. I’m a lucky gal in that respect!

      Horrible about that accident with the 13 year old racer. Worse that you actually saw it. It’s just so sad.

      On the upside, Spies didn’t disappoint! A second place finish was excellent! And Rossi to come up to 4th…nice!

  2. I’m so glad you’re on the mend. Wow. But I do know how quickly it can come on. I just hope that bug stays away from me! What’s the incubation period for it, I wonder?

    I was kind of flinchy on the drive home and I had nightmares the last 2 night’s at Indy… not necessarily related to the boy’s accident but as soon as I woke up my mind went over what we saw happen. We found out he died part way through the MotoGP race. I just sat stunned and found it hard to really enjoy the rest of the race although I was pleased with the outcome of it… Pedrosa, Spies, Lorenzo and Rossi.

    Anyway, take care you. hope to hear from you soon. And don’t forget to visit Don’s Guns before you leave Indy!

    Sharon


Leave a Reply

Categories

